Saturday, 21 November 2015

42nd Parliament, Opposition Critics on Indigenous Affairs and Issues

Nov. 21, 2015 

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has been sworn in and has named his ministry. Stephen Harper has resigned as Conservative leader and Edmonton area MP Rona Ambrose has been named interim Conservative leader. Thomas Mulcair will remain as his party's leader with no mention of resigning his leadership, this is a potential for a leadership review at the NDP's convention. Elizabeth May maintains the Green Party Leader and sole MP.

You will notice the opposition has chosen two or more critics for one ministry, they may be tasked with specific files within the overall portfolio. The Liberal Government will still need to choose their Parliamentary Secretaries that provide support to the Minister and represents them in the House of Commons when they are not in attendance.

Generally party critics and parliamentary secretaries will sit on the House of Commons Standing Committee for their appropriate portfolios. Parties that don't have representation in a certain region regularly appoint high profile party representatives from the respective region as critics. Neither the Conservatives nor the NDP have MPs elected in any of the Atlantic region. Example, Scott Armstrong former CPC MP has been appointed critic for ACOA and is not a member of parliament. 


The Conservative Official Opposition Leader and Indigenous Affairs Critics

*Interim Leader

Full list of Conservative party critics can be found here

The NDP Opposition Leader and Indigenous Affairs Critics

Full list of NDP party critics can be found here

Green Party Leader and Indigenous Affairs Critic


Bloc Qubecois Leader and Indigenous Affairs Critic

As do minister, Critic roles can be shuffled, we will be sure to update this page if/when changes occur. (J. Fraser)

No comments:

Post a comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.