Saturday, 21 November 2015

42nd Parliament, Opposition Critics on Indigenous Affairs and Issues

Nov. 21, 2015 

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has been sworn in and has named his ministry. Stephen Harper has resigned as Conservative leader and Edmonton area MP Rona Ambrose has been named interim Conservative leader. Thomas Mulcair will remain as his party's leader with no mention of resigning his leadership, this is a potential for a leadership review at the NDP's convention. Elizabeth May maintains the Green Party Leader and sole MP.

You will notice the opposition has chosen two or more critics for one ministry, they may be tasked with specific files within the overall portfolio. The Liberal Government will still need to choose their Parliamentary Secretaries that provide support to the Minister and represents them in the House of Commons when they are not in attendance.

Generally party critics and parliamentary secretaries will sit on the House of Commons Standing Committee for their appropriate portfolios. Parties that don't have representation in a certain region regularly appoint high profile party representatives from the respective region as critics. Neither the Conservatives nor the NDP have MPs elected in any of the Atlantic region. Example, Scott Armstrong former CPC MP has been appointed critic for ACOA and is not a member of parliament. 


The Conservative Official Opposition Leader and Indigenous Affairs Critics

*Interim Leader

Full list of Conservative party critics can be found here

The NDP Opposition Leader and Indigenous Affairs Critics

Full list of NDP party critics can be found here

Green Party Leader and Indigenous Affairs Critic


Bloc Qubecois Leader and Indigenous Affairs Critic

As do minister, Critic roles can be shuffled, we will be sure to update this page if/when changes occur. (J. Fraser)

Tuesday, 17 November 2015

Indigenous Candidates in 2016 Newfoundland and Labrador provincial election

Indigenous Candidates
Newfoundland & Labrador 
2015 Election - Nov. 30, 2015

Keith Russell
Progressive Conservative
Lake Melville, Labrador

Randy Edmunds
Tonga Mountains, Labrador

Gerry Byrne
Corner Brook, Newfoundland
Qalipu Mi'kmaq

Lisa Dempster

Shane Snook
St. Georges - Humbler, Newfoundland
Qalipu Mi'kmaq


Information - Newfoundland & Labrador Elections


-Understand that Newfoundland and Labrador are the same province, using specific Labrador or the Rock differentiation so people know where these ridings are.

- If you are aware of any other First Nation, Metis and Inuit candidates, please let us know.

By: J. Fraser (Oct. 17, 2015)

Thursday, 5 November 2015

Indigenous appointments in 23rd Canadian Ministry

Indigenous issues and interests take priority with appointment of Canada's 23rd Ministry

Oct. 5, 2015 (J. Fraser)

By now you have read, viewed and watched extensive coverage of the officiating of Justin Trudeau as Canada’s 23rd Prime Minister. He also announced his cabinet and 23rd Canadian ministry.  

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau stated he would appoint an equal amount of women and men to his cabinet and he has delivered on that promise. The new cabinet represents a broad cross-section of Canadian people of different ages, from diverse backgrounds and regions.

This includes two Indigenous people appointed to the cabinet, Jody Wilson-Raybould as Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and Hunter Tootoo as Minister of Fisheries, Ocean and the Canadian Coast Guard. Long time Indigenous advocate and former Liberal party critic Dr. Carolyn Bennett was appointed Minister of Indigenous Affairs and Northern Affairs.

Once Parliamentary Secretaries have been appointed, we will add them to this list.

Rt. Hon Justin Trudeau  
(Also Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and Youth)
Cabinet Committees:
Chair - Cabinet Committee on Agenda and Results
Chair - Cabinet Committee on Intelligence and Emergency Management

(Editorial Comments: Prime Minister Trudeau has campaigned on building a Nation-to-Nation relationship with Indigenous people, as Prime Minister and Intergovernmental affairs minister he will play a pivotal role in engaging Indigenous people and leadership)

Hon. Jody Wilson-Raybould 
Cabinet Committees:
Vice-Chair - Cabinet Committee on Canada in the World and Public Security
Vice-Chair - Cabinet Committee on Intelligence and Emergency Management
Member - Cabinet Committee on Agenda and Results
Member - Cabinet Committee on Diversity and Inclusion
Member - Canada in the World and Public Security: Sub-Committee on Canada-United States Relations
Member - Cabinet Committee on Open and Transparent Government

(Editorial Comments: Minister Wilson-Raybould as a senior Minister will have an important role in developing MMIW enquiry, working on Indigenous justice issues, reversing government litigation against First Nations and developing the Nation-to-Nation relationship with Indigenous peoples)

Hon. Hunter Tootoo 
Bio | Twitter | Facebook
Mandate Letter Click on text above to see highlights. 
Cabinet Committees:
Member - Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs
Member - Cabinet Committee on Environment, Climate Change and Energy

(Editorial Comments - As Minister Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard, Minister Tootoo is also the regional minister for the north. He will play an important role in being a voice for the north and from an Indigenous perspective engaging Indigenous people on management of Canada's waterways. With the recent capsizing incident of off Tofino, Indigenous people have said they should play a role in Canada's Coast Guard)

Hon. Carolyn Bennett 
Cabinet Committees:
Member - Cabinet Committee on Diversity and Inclusion
Member - Cabinet Committee on Environment, Climate Change and Energy

(Editorial Comments - Minister Bennett has stated she sees her role as a minister of reconciliation, building bridges and engaging and consulting First Nations, Metis and Inuit people. The Trudeau government has committed to reviewing legislation imposed by the Harper government and ensuring Indigenous people have meaningful consultation and fulfill the duty to consult.)

Yvonne Jones

List of all Parliamentary Secretaries 

All Ministerial Mandate Letters include this preamble specific to Indigenous peoples: No relationship is more important to me and to Canada than the one with Indigenous Peoples. It is time for a renewed, nation-to-nation relationship with Indigenous Peoples, based on recognition of rights, respect, co-operation, and partnership.

You are expected to do your part to fulfill our government’s commitment to transparent, merit-based appointments, to help ensure gender parity and that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are better reflected in positions of leadership.
Individual Mandate Directives to be posted soon.


The Cabinet committee is a set of Committees in the Canadian Federal Government that are responsible for enacting the operations of the Government's agenda.

Learn more about Cabinet Committees and which Ministers sit on specific committees:

The full Canadian Cabinet (Ministry): 

The names of several departments are being changed as follows:
• Citizenship and Immigration Canada to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada;
• Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada to Indigenous and Northern    Affairs Canada;
• Industry Canada to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
• Environment Canada to Environment and Climate Change Canada.



Stay tuned we will write an article about NDP/CPC Shadow Cabinet and Indigenous Critics when they are appointed.