Monday, 26 October 2015

History of Elected Indigenous MPs Past and Present

History of Elected Indigenous MPs 
  • 42 Indigenous MPs elected to date (2015)
  • 8 Female
  • 15 First Nation, 7 Inuit, 20 Metis
  • 4 BC, 1 AB, 5 SK, 11 MB, 3 ON, 4 QC, 4 NL, 4 NT, 6NU
  • 7 Conservative
  • 4 Progressive Conservative
  • 1 Reform Party
  • 20 Liberal 
  • 6 NDP
  • 2 NDP crossed floor to Liberals
  • 1 Bloc Quebecois  
  • 1 Independent


Saturday, 24 October 2015

FSIN Elections for Chief, First, Second and Third Vice-Chiefs - Oct 2015

The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN) represents 74 First Nations in Saskatchewan. The Federation is committed to honouring the Spirit and Intent of the Treaties as well as the promotion, protection and implementation of Treaties that were made with the First Nations more than a century ago.

Candidates for Chief (3 year term)
- Helen Ben (Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation)
- Robert Cameron - Witchekan Lake First Nation
- Leo Omani (Wahpeton Dakota First Nation)

First Vice-Chief (3 year term)
- Kimberly Jonathan* - (Wahpeton Dakota First Nation) Twitter
*Currently serving as interim Chief

Second Vice-Chief (2 year term)
- Rod Atcheynum (Sweetgrass First Nation) Twitter
- Guy Lonechild (Whitebear First Nation) Facebook Twitter
- Robert Merasty (Flying Dust First Nation) Facebook

Third Vice-Chief (3 year term)
- Edward Lerat (Cowessess First Nation) Twitter

FSIN Election Declared Candidates Contact Sheet

The Election will take place at the FSIN Fall Assembly on October 29 and 29th in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. 

Interesting Related Articles 

Cuthand: Saskatchewan First Nations facing watershed FSIN election (Oct. 23, 2015)

Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Romeo Saganash seeking a second term for northern Quebec riding

Romeo Saganash seeking a second term for northern Quebec riding 

Romeo Saganash is from the Waswanipi Cree community in central Quebec, he is the NDP candidate and incumbent MP for Abitibi—Baie-James—Nunavik—Eeyou.

Background and Experience: 
-Romeo was elected an MP for the northern Quebec riding during the 2011 federal election taking 45% of the vote. He has served as critic for Energy & Natural Resources and Deputy Critic for Aboriginal Affairs.
-He introduced a private member’s bill in support of the government implement the United Declaration of the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (C-641), which was support by the Liberal party. It was referred to committee but later failed to read third and died on the order paper.
-Previously, Romeo was the Director of Quebec Relations and International Affairs for the Grand Council of Crees. Before that he served as Deputy Grand Chief of same organization.
-He was Vice-Chairman of the Cree Regional Authority and also chaired the James Bay Advisory Committee on the Environment.
-In 1985 he founded the Cree National Youth Council and later went on to earn his Bachelor of Law in Quebec.


Riding history:
-The riding has a history of electing MPs from many diverse parties, Romeo was the first NDP to be elected in this riding.
-The riding is the largest in Quebec in size and also has the largest Aboriginal population with 35.9% (2011 Census NHS) of total Canadian population in the riding. It includes several James Bay Cree communities and the Inuit communities of Nunavik.

Candidates for Abitibi – Baie-James – Nunavik – Eeyou

Steven Hebert, Conservative


Saturday, 10 October 2015

Party Policy and Platforms on Indigenous Issues and Interests for the 2015 Federal Election

On this page we will share the platforms, policies and commitments made by party leaders to First Nation, Métis and Inuit people and communities. 



AFN Closing the Gap 


-Mentions: Aboriginal & Indigenous
-We couldn't find a copy of the most recent CPC policy convention resolutions
-The Conservatives do not have an Aboriginal commission, however Cree MP Rob Clarke chaired their parliamentary Aboriginal caucus.
- The Conservative party has 5 Indigenous Candidates


-Mentions: Aboriginal, Indigenous, First Nation, Metis, Inuit, TRC, UNDRIP, MMIW
-Policy Resolutions passed at 2014 Liberal Party Policy Convention
-The Aboriginal Peoples' Commission is a body within Liberal Party governance 
-The Liberal Party has 18 Indigenous Candidates 


-Mentions: Aboriginal, Indigenous, First Nation, Metis, Inuit, TRC, UNDRIP, MMIW
-Couldn't find NDP Policy Convention on NDP site, found on Macleans
-The NDP Aboriginal Commission is a body with the NDP's governance


-Mentions: Aboriginal, Indigenous, First Nation, Metis, Inuit, TRC, UNDRIP, MMIW
-Policy Resolutions passed at the 2014 Green Party Policy Convention
-The Green Party of Canada Indigenous Critic is Lorraine Rekmans
-The Green Party of Canada has 9 Indigenous Candidates 


If there is any information you believe we missed, please feel free to contact us.